CONVENT MÁXIMO DE LA MERCED
The Church and Convent of La Merced are located between Cuenca, Mejía, Imbabura and Chile streets, in the historic center of Quito. Its beauty is exceptional for the stonework of its facades and for its invaluable treasures housed inside the convent. The cloister has a patio of 29 meters per side, is bricked. In one of the angles of that same patio is now a stone cross, whose structure adorned for several centuries the corner of the atrium of the church. The cross rests on a die in whose faces the four evangelists have been represented, on whose front the shield of the Mercedarian Order is engraved and on one of the sides, the date of the year 1927 when it was placed in that courtyard, 30 years of being removed from the atrium. Four lions decorate the four corners of the base, at the top. The main cloister of the church is one of the most attractive in Quito, with stone pillars and fascinating white passages, as well as a wide courtyard that has a magnificent stone carved fountain in the center, with a figure of Neptune. In the upper cloister there is a series of paintings depicting the life of Saint Francis Xavier, which was painted by Brother Hernando de la Cruz.